Register Now

9 December

All sessions are free unless specified otherwise

9.00am Breakfast & Registration

9.30am Welcome Address: Martin Armiger
Main Theatre

9.40am Keynote Address: Philip Brophy
Philip Brophy’s certified guide to being a film composer
Main Theatre

10.10am Guest speaker: Caitlin Yeo
Showcasing her AACTA Award nominated score for the recent feature film, The Butterfly Tree.
Main Theatre

10.40am Morning Tea

10.45am Competition Finalist Screenings
Studio 3

11.00am Show and Tell with Composers
Main Theatre

Guest speakers:

David Hirschfelder
Amy Bastow
Burkhard Dallwitz

Each composer will present and discuss an excerpt of recent work followed by a Q&A session with the audience.

12.30pm Lunch break

12.30pm Competition Finalist Screenings
Studio 3

 12.45pm Academic Stream: Research Papers Session 1
Teaching Room 2.2
12.45pm: Craig Morgan
Felicity Wilcox

1.00pm Speed Networking Session: Find your perfect music-picture partnership
Hosted by Anthea Varigos

2.00pm In Conversation with Charlie Clouser
The Joy of Horror: from Nails to Saws
Main Theatre

Charlie Clouser is a leading composer in LA known for his screen music in the SAW franchise and his time as the guitarist and Protools engineer for Nine Inch Nails.

Charlie shares stories and ideas about music for the screen and reveals his unique approach to composing.

3.30pm Afternoon Tea

3.30 – 4.30pm Introduction to Sampling
Guest Composer: Pru Montin
Room 1.42
Booked out – please enquire at registration desk on Saturday morning if you’re interested in attending.

3.45pm United We Stand: Models for Screen Composers
Main Theatre

Guest speakers:

Adam Gock, The DA’s Office
Charlton Hill, Uncanny Valley
Justin Shave, Uncanny Valley
Helena Czajka, Borderland Sound
Guy Gross, Church Street Studios

Guest speakers will discuss varying operations and business models used by screen composers accompanied by recent examples of work and the philosophy behind their practice.

4.00pm Research Papers Session 2
Teaching Room 2.2
4.00pm: Yantra de Vilder
4.30pm: Maija Howe

5.00pm: She Scores Concert
Main Theatre

Performances by:
Yantra de Vilder
Pru Montin
Angela Little

Nerida Tyson Chew
Ros Dunlop
Freya Schack-Arnott

6.00pm Awards Ceremony
Main Theatre

7.00pm BBQ and networking drinks

Register Now

AFTRS Library
9.00am – 5.00pm

AFTRS Library will showcase various activations on Friday and Saturday including access to music scores, film soundtracks, screenings of various music documentaries and a pop-up book sale.

Final program subject to change.
Disclaimer: In the event of a session or guest speaker being cancelled, AFTRS is not liable for costs incurred to attend the free event.